BOOK REVIEW: PAPER AEROPLANES

How exciting! The inaugural review for the First Annual Solo Book Club! First up on the review board is Paper Aeroplanes written by Dawn O’Porter.

Paper-Aeroplanes

For me, being a teenaged girl was an… experience. I was an awkward teenager. I’m sure that most of the awkwardness was inside my head but there was quite a bit of it that leaked out where people could see. I was the tall, funny girl with the crazy hair that was super involved in choir, and theatre, and drill team. I definitely had a lot of friends and – this might be the nostalgic hindsight talking – I actually remember enjoying high school. Even the hard times or the crazy friend drama or the incessant just-above-averageness of my grades – hey, it was hard for a girl who only cared about artsy stuff and friends to concentrate on history, geography, and math. Singular, not the plural British kind. My best grades came from when we were allowed to be, and I use this term loosely, “creative” on projects. Less so, when it came time to bubble in the multiple choice answers on the scantron. My answers… Well, out of four possible answer choices I could tell you the two, definitely wrong, answers.

But my bubbles.

My bubbles were clean and precise. They inspired awe in my fellow classmates. Professors couldn’t believe that they had such a bubbler in their midst. They were the stuff of dreams.

For Renée and Flo in Paper Aeroplanes, high school is less crazy dramatic than what Gossip Girl or those oversexed kids from the Creek would have us believe. But there is still drama of the family and friend variety; the realistic, jaunty writing gives you the sense that the drama is not only possible, but identifiably believable. Renée and Flo begin their journey in different friend groups, each with their own quirks and flaws. An introvert who would rather tow the line of non-confrontation and a third-wheel with a penchant for epic, subtle prankery? How could they not end up as BFFs? O’Porter’s version of high school in Guernsey, England is an easy, delightful read with girls whose friendship is strengthened and tested by the fraying bonds between family and friends. Looking forward to the next instalment in the series, Goose.

Overall, a spot-on slice of teenage girlhood. Rating: ★★★★

Stay Random!
randomelouisesig2014

3 thoughts on “BOOK REVIEW: PAPER AEROPLANES

Leave a Reply

