QUESTIONS ON COMMENTS

Tea-and-Roses

Commenting.
Putting my thoughts out into the world on someone else’s blog.

Not on my own blog, where I am safe and can control the outcomes. People seem to find it so easy – a witty comment here, a knowing pun there. Now I know I can quip along with the best of them; banter ’til the cows come home. So why do I seem to hesitate online? I want to take this first step toward joining a vibrant community dialogue present; continuing to build my online presence one small post and comment at a time… but I‘m finding myself hesitating when it comes to commenting/reaching out to other bloggers… especially the more established ones. We all want to be seen/acknowledged (I can respond to every comment I get – but I’m still small, yet) but I feel odd adding my thoughts to hundreds of other thoughts already posted seems like adding another drop of water to an already full bucket. What if nobody notices I’ve even said something? Does it matter if I post at all? It’s especially hard in the case of the established blogstars. What’s the best way to get the dialogue process started? Any thoughts?

Stay Random!
randomelouisesig2014

4 thoughts on “QUESTIONS ON COMMENTS

  1. I have to say, I only leave a comment on the smaller blogs… If they’ve already got, say, 100+ comments, like you, I think why add my tiny thought droplet? (Love that image, btw!)
    I think we’re more likely to get the dialogue you mention on a smaller blog with fewer comments, but that’s just my tuppence worth 🙂

  2. See I work on the premise that my voice is just as important as everyone else’s, and everyone else’s voice is equally important as mine. If that makes sense. So although I don’t always bother chipping into a long comments conversation, I don’t sweat about it, I just… don’t bother 😀 Bit like Claire I suppose, I feel my time and effort commenting will be more appreciated on smaller blogs.

    However, if you leave a comment very soon after a “blogstar” has posted, you’ll be higher up on the commrnts list and perhaps your comment will elicit more of a response/dialogue?

    Interesting post here though. I started Blogging in 2004 and never really thought about this before, so thank you! 😀

  3. Hi there! The best way is your way! You don’t know what works for you until you try it. I don’t think it matters how many comments there are. If you feel you have something of value to add to the post, just do so. I do as Claire and Croila do, too. If I see a long list of comments, I won’t add one. But who knows what would have happened if I did?

Leave a Reply

